Contest Results

Convention Pictures


Internship Program

Member Newspapers

Membership Information

Texas Press Association

South Texas Press Assn.



Click here for 2014 Contest Results.
2014 Convention pictures are on our Facebook Page.

Photo Left: Inducted into the Texas Gulf Coast Press Association's Hall of Fame for 2014 were Willis Webb (left), retired and formerly of the Jasper Newsboy, and Alvin Holley of the Polk County Enterprise. Photo Right: Sweepstakes Winners in the 2014 GCPA's Newspaper Contest were: Divsion 2-Pleasanton Express accepted by Sue Brown; and Division 1-East Bernard Express and Division 3-El Campo Leader-News accepted by Jay Strasner.

The Texas Gulf Coast Press Association (TGCPA) was established in 1938 to promote the welfare of, encourage ethical practices in, and protect the interests of the newspaper publishing industry in the Gulf Coast Region of Texas; to encourage and promote higher standards of journalism; to take an active interest in the welfare of the State and Nation, encourage proper development of natural resources of Texas, and to cooperate with other organizations and agencies that may have like objectives. The primary purpose of Texas Gulf Coast Press Association is "educational."

The late John H. Manthey, Jr. of Cleveland served as the charter president of the TGCPA (1938-40).

The TGCPA also sponsors an Internship Program providing eight weeks of on-the-job training for college students with a member newspapers. It also awards a Scholarship to a deserving college student pursuing a degree in a journalism-related field.

GCPA membership comes in five classes: active, individual, associate, participating, and honorary. Annual membership meetings are held on the weekend after Mother's Day. Membership dues are $85 per year. For more information on TGCPA membership Click Here.

Send mail to